stats-recaps2

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#37
Henderson Alvarez
ERA W-L K
2.65 12-7 111
Team: MiamiHt / Wt: 6-0 / 203 NFBC ADP: 391.11
Position: SPBorn: 4/18/1990 Birthplace: Valencia, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Blue Jays (2006)


Latest News
Sep. 24 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET22:27 GMT6:27 3:27 PM MST5:27 PM EST5:57 PM VEN2:27 UAE (+1)5:27 PM CT-Alvarez won his second straight start Tuesday, giving up five hits over 7 2-3 innings in a 2-0 victory against Philadelphia.
Analysis: Alvarez has given up only three runs in his 20 2-3 innings over the last three starts.
Sep. 18 11:50 AM PT12:50 PM MT1:50 PM CT2:50 PM ET14:50 ET18:50 GMT2:50 11:50 AM MST1:50 PM EST2:20 PM VEN22:50 UAE1:50 PM CT-Alvarez ended a three-start winless streak with a 4-3 win over the New York Mets on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Alvarez (11-6, 2.82 ERA), a first-time All-Star this year, allowed two runs and eight hits in six innings. He was 0-1 with a 5.17 ERA in his prior three outings.
Sep. 1 12:57 PM PT1:57 PM MT2:57 PM CT3:57 PM ET15:57 ET19:57 GMT3:57 12:57 PM MST2:57 PM EST3:27 PM VEN23:57 UAE2:57 PM CT-Alvarez was back on the mound Friday in Philadelphia for his first start since Sept. 1.
Analysis: The 24-year-old right-hander was forced to leave in the third inning of a 9-6 win over the New York Mets because of a strained left oblique.
Aug. 1 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)5:13 PM CT-Alvarez was back on the mound for the Miami Marlins, starting Saturday's game against Arizona.
Analysis: Alvarez had not pitched since July 29 because of inflammation in his right shoulder. The right-hander, 8-5 with a 2.48 ERA, was named to the All-Star team this season for the first time in his career.
July 30 10:39 AM PT11:39 AM MT12:39 PM CT1:39 PM ET13:39 ET17:39 GMT1:39 10:39 AM MST12:39 PM EST1:09 PM VEN21:39 UAE12:39 PM CT-Alvarez threw seven innings of three-hit ball to beat Washington 3-0 on Tuesday.
Analysis: Alvarez has allowed two runs or fewer in all but one of his last 13 starts.
July 25 12:45 PM PT1:45 PM MT2:45 PM CT3:45 PM ET15:45 ET19:45 GMT3:45 12:45 PM MST2:45 PM EST3:15 PM VEN23:45 UAE2:45 PM CT-Alvarez earned his seventh win of the season in Thursday's 3-2 victory at Atlanta.
Analysis: Alvarez is 5-2 with a 1.89 ERA over his last 12 games.
July 19 5:19 PM PT6:19 PM MT7:19 PM CT8:19 PM ET20:19 ET0:19 GMT8:19 5:19 PM MST7:19 PM EST7:49 PM VEN4:19 UAE (+1)7:19 PM CT-Alvarez left Saturday's game against San Francisco in the third inning after being struck on the left leg by a grounder off the bat of Joe Panik.
Analysis: Alvarez threw to first for the out, then limped off the field with the help of catcher Jarrod Saltamacchia and a trainer. Miami said Alvarez sustained a bruised shin and is day to day.
July 12 6:06 PM PT7:06 PM MT8:06 PM CT9:06 PM ET21:06 ET1:06 GMT9:06 6:06 PM MST8:06 PM EST8:36 PM VEN5:06 UAE (+1)8:06 PM CT-Alvarez will replace injured Washington pitcher Jordan Zimmermann for Tuesday night's All-Star game at Target Field in Minnesota.
Analysis: Alvarez, a first-time All-Star, is 6-4 with a 2.63 ERA and three shutouts in 19 starts. He pitched a no-hitter against Detroit on the final day of the 2013 regular season.
July 12 12:20 PM PT1:20 PM MT2:20 PM CT3:20 PM ET15:20 ET19:20 GMT3:20 12:20 PM MST2:20 PM EST2:50 PM VEN23:20 UAE2:20 PM CT-Alvarez had allowed two runs or fewer in nine straight outings before getting knocked around in Friday's 7-1 road loss to the New York Mets.
Analysis: Alvarez yielded a season-worst six earned runs and eight hits over five innings. Despite that poor performance, he'll carry a 2.63 ERA into the All-Star break.
July 12 11:03 AM PT12:03 PM MT1:03 PM CT2:03 PM ET14:03 ET18:03 GMT2:03 11:03 AM MST1:03 PM EST1:33 PM VEN22:03 UAE1:03 PM CT-Alvarez will replace Washington's Jordan Zimmermann on the National League's roster for Tuesday's All-Star game at Target Field in Minneapolis. The roster change was announced Saturday.
Analysis: Alvarez, a first-time All-Star, is 6-4 with a 2.63 ERA and three shutouts in19 starts. He pitched a no-hitter against Detroit on the final day of the 2013 regular season. Zimmermann left Friday night's start against Philadelphia after 3 1-3 innings because of a right biceps injury.
July 7 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Alvarez dominated fantasy baseball Sunday.
Analysis: Alvarez worked seven stingy innings as he allowed one run and also had a career-high three hits in one of the best all-around displays of the 2014 fantasy season.
July 2 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Alvarez turned in another solid showing Tuesday against Philadelphia.
Analysis: Alvarez allowed two runs and seven hits over seven innings and was in line for the win before Kevin Gregg blew the lead in the eighth inning. Alvarez is 3-0 with a 1.01 ERA in his last eight starts.
June 26 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Alvarez gave up one earned run and seven hits over 6 2-3 innings in Wednesday's victory over Philadelphia.
Analysis: Alvarez continues to enjoy a truly dominant run, going 3-0 with an 0.78 ERA over his last seven games.
June 8 1:48 PM PT2:48 PM MT3:48 PM CT4:48 PM ET16:48 ET20:48 GMT4:48 1:48 PM MST3:48 PM EST4:18 PM VEN0:48 UAE (+1)3:48 PM CT-Alvarez was back on the Miami mound Sunday.
Analysis: Alvarez left last Sunday's game against the Chicago Cubs because of a left hip strain.
May 28 6:22 PM PT7:22 PM MT8:22 PM CT9:22 PM ET21:22 ET1:22 GMT9:22 6:22 PM MST8:22 PM EST8:52 PM VEN5:22 UAE (+1)8:22 PM CT-Alvarez has been cleared to pitch Tuesday after complaining of a sore elbow in his most recent start.
Analysis: Alvarez was examined by a doctor and played catch Friday. He is to throw a bullpen session Saturday. Barring a setback, he'll start Tuesday against Tampa Bay following an extra day of rest.
May 23 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Alvarez threw seven innings of scoreless ball but didn't get the win in Thursday's 4-3 victory over Philadelphia.
Analysis: He had allowed nine earned runs in his previous 10 innings of work. Despite the rough stretch, he's 2-1 with a 2.87 ERA in seven starts since April 19.
May 7 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Alvarez tossed his second shutout of the season Tuesday against the Mets, giving up six hits and striking out seven.
Analysis: Alvarez owns a 1.80 ERA over his last four starts.
May 2 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Alvarez didn't a receive a decision Thursday.
Analysis: Alvarez allowed four runs and eight hits in six innings, giving up multiple homers in a game for the first time since Sept. 24, 2012. He faces the Mets next time out for him.
Apr. 26 12:39 PM PT1:39 PM MT2:39 PM CT3:39 PM ET15:39 ET19:39 GMT3:39 12:39 PM MST2:39 PM EST3:09 PM VEN23:39 UAE2:39 PM CT-Alvarez didn't a receive a decision for his six innings against the Mets on Friday.
Analysis: Alvarez yielded two runs and six hits over six innings, bumping his ERA up only slightly to 2.73. With a 2.92 FIP mark and a 2:1 strikeout-to-walk ratio, his success should be sustainable for fantasy owners.
Apr. 20 4:10 PM PT5:10 PM MT6:10 PM CT7:10 PM ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 PM MST6:10 PM EST6:40 PM VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 PM CT-Alvarez recorded his first victory of the season Saturday against the Mariners with his third career shutout.
Analysis: The shutout was quite the surprise for any owners lucky enough to have Alvarez in their lineup, as he entered the day with a 4.30 ERA through three outings this season.
Apr. 9 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-Alvarez was tagged with the loss after giving up six hits and three runs - though just one was earned - and striking out four in 5 2-3 innings of Tuesday's loss to Washington.
Analysis: Alvarez is 0-2 with a 4.15 ERA thus far while receiving just one run of support.
Apr. 3 10:32 AM PT11:32 AM MT12:32 PM CT1:32 PM ET13:32 ET17:32 GMT1:32 10:32 AM MST12:32 PM EST1:02 PM VEN21:32 UAE12:32 PM CT-Alvarez was on the short end of Wednesday's 6-5 loss to Colorado.
Analysis: Alvarez allowed six runs - three earned - and seven hits in three-plus innings. "What got me in trouble was leaving the ball up," Alvarez said.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2011 Tor 1 3 0 - 0 10 10 0 63.2 64 26 25 8 8 0 40 1.13 3.53
2012 Tor 9 14 0 - 0 31 31 1 187.1 216 110 101 29 54 2 79 1.44 4.85
2013 Mia 5 6 0 - 0 17 17 1 102.2 90 42 41 2 27 1 57 1.14 3.59
2014 Mia 12 7 0 - 0 30 30 3 187.0 198 65 55 14 33 3 111 1.24 2.65
Career 27 30 0 - 0 88 88 5 540.2 568 243 222 53 122 6 287 1.28 3.70

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Tor 31 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Mia 17 30 2 9 3 0 1 6 0 12 0 0 .300 .290 .500
2014 Mia 30 57 2 11 0 0 0 2 1 20 0 0 .193 .203 .193
Career 88 88 4 20 3 0 1 8 1 33 0 0 .227 .231 .295

Postseason


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1667 97 84 93.5 64.09
Curveball 24 70 56 60.1 .92
Slider 324 91 72 83.3 12.46
Changeup 586 92 83 89.1 22.53

126 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.