stats-recaps2
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#38
Brandon McCarthy
ERA W-L K
5.01 3-10 93
Team: LA DodgersHt / Wt: 6-7 / 200 NFBC ADP: 293.57
Position: SPBorn: 7/7/1983 Birthplace: Glendale, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 17th Round by White Sox (2002)


Latest News
Sep. 24 3:19 PM PT4:19 PM MT5:19 PM CT6:19 PM ET18:19 ET22:19 GMT6:19 3:19 PM MST5:19 PM EST5:49 PM VEN2:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-McCarthy fell to the O's on Tuesday.
Analysis: McCarthy was charged with five runs and 11 hits in 5 1-3 innings.
Aug. 22 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-McCarthy's exceptional work with the Yankees continued Thursday with his first shutout since May 18, 2013.
Analysis: The right-hander is now 5-2 with a 1.90 ERA in eight starts since moving to the AL.
Aug. 5 9:33 AM PT10:33 AM MT11:33 AM CT12:33 PM ET12:33 ET16:33 GMT0:33 9:33 AM MST11:33 AM EST12:03 PM VEN20:33 UAE11:33 AM CT-McCarthy continued his strong start to his Yankees tenure, winning his sixth straight decision in a 2-1 victory over Detroit on Monday. He limited the Tigers to an unearned run and five hits over 5 2-3 innings.
Analysis: McCarthy is 6-0 with a 2.09 ERA over his last seven starts. He's 4-0 with a 2.08 ERA in five outings since joining the Yankees.
July 30 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-McCarthy picked up another win for his new club despite a mediocre outing, allowing four runs and nine hits over six innings in a 12-11 victory at Texas on Tuesday.
Analysis: McCarthy is 3-0 with a 2.55 ERA in four starts for the Yankees after posting a career-worst 5.01 ERA and 3-10 record over 18 outings with Arizona earlier this season.
July 25 1:30 PM PT2:30 PM MT3:30 PM CT4:30 PM ET16:30 ET20:30 GMT4:30 1:30 PM MST3:30 PM EST4:00 PM VEN0:30 UAE (+1)3:30 PM CT-On Thursday, McCarthy improved to 2-0 with a 1.45 ERA in three starts since the Yankees got him from Arizona.
Analysis: McCarthy threw six more solid innings and faces the Rangers again next week.
July 20 2:38 PM PT3:38 PM MT4:38 PM CT5:38 PM ET17:38 ET21:38 GMT5:38 2:38 PM MST4:38 PM EST5:08 PM VEN1:38 UAE (+1)4:38 PM CT-McCarthy earned his first win for New York with an impressive debut in pinstripes to send the Yankees past the Reds 7-1 on Saturday.
Analysis: McCarthy struck out nine and walked none over six innings in his second start for New York. McCarthy threw 71 of 99 pitches for strikes, improving to 3-0 with a 1.78 ERA in his last four outings after winning only once in his initial 16 starts this season. Told his wife, Amanda, tweeted several wisecracks about all the highway congestion that delayed her arrival at the ballpark, McCarthy could only smile.
July 10 3:08 PM PT4:08 PM MT5:08 PM CT6:08 PM ET18:08 ET22:08 GMT6:08 3:08 PM MST5:08 PM EST5:38 PM VEN2:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-McCarthy made his first start with the Yankees, allowing four runs - though just one was earned - and nine hits over 6 2-3 innings in New York's 5-4 win at Cleveland on Wednesday.
Analysis: McCarthy, who didn't factor in the decision, owns a 1.86 ERA over his last three outings after previously posting a 5.38 ERA on the season. You might not want to swipe him up yet but you may not have much longer to act if he can keep this up.
July 6 10:08 AM PT11:08 AM MT12:08 PM CT1:08 PM ET13:08 ET17:08 GMT1:08 10:08 AM MST12:08 PM EST12:38 PM VEN21:08 UAE12:08 PM CT-The New York Yankees tried to bolster their rotation on Sunday by acquiring veteran right-hander Brandon McCarthy from Arizona.
Analysis: McCarthy, who turns 31 on Monday, was 3-10 with a 5.01 ERA with Arizona this season. In nine seasons with the White Sox, Rangers, A's and Diamondbacks, McCarthy is 45-60 with a 4.21 ERA. McCarthy, a groundball pitcher, may be better suited for Yankee Stadium.
July 4 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-McCarthy won his second straight start Thursday, giving up two runs and eight hits over 5 2-3 innings in a 10-2 victory against Pittsburgh.
Analysis: McCarthy has allowed three runs over 12 2-3 innings in back-to-back wins after he had been 1-10 on the season with a 5.38 ERA.
June 28 5:13 PM PT6:13 PM MT7:13 PM CT8:13 PM ET20:13 ET0:13 GMT8:13 5:13 PM MST7:13 PM EST7:43 PM VEN4:13 UAE (+1)7:13 PM CT-McCarthy finally put an end to his nine-start winless streak Friday, throwing seven innings of one-run ball in a 2-1 victory at San Diego.
Analysis: Any owners that were still hopeful for a turnaround from McCarthy shouldn't get too excited considering his shoddy body of work this season.
May 4 4:50 PM PT5:50 PM MT6:50 PM CT7:50 PM ET19:50 ET23:50 GMT7:50 4:50 PM MST6:50 PM EST7:20 PM VEN3:50 UAE (+1)6:50 PM CT-McCarthy earned his first win of the season as Arizona held on for a 4-3 victory at San Diego on Saturday.
Analysis: McCarthy, who entered with a 5.54 ERA, scattered three hits over seven scoreless innings. He'll try to make it two in a row against the White Sox next week.
Apr. 28 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-McCarthy struck out a career-high 12 and gave up two runs over seven innings but suffered his fifth consecutive defeat Sunday, 2-0 to Philadelphia.
Analysis: McCarthy (0-5, 5.54 ERA) has allowed three earned runs or fewer in three consecutive starts. He's been given a combined one run of support over his last four outings.
Apr. 23 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)3:44 PM CT-McCarthy lost his fourth straight start Tuesday against Chicago, giving up five runs - though just one was earned - and seven hits over five innings.
Analysis: McCarthy's ERA fell nearly a full point but is still rather unsightly at 6.23.
Apr. 12 11:45 AM PT12:45 PM MT1:45 PM CT2:45 PM ET14:45 ET18:45 GMT2:45 11:45 AM MST1:45 PM EST2:15 PM VEN22:45 UAE1:45 PM CT-McCarthy's early woes continued in a 6-0 loss to the Los Angeles Dodgers on Friday night.
Analysis: McCarthy (0-2, 7.78 ERA) allowed six runs for the second straight game and a season-high 10 hits in seven innings. He hasn't given up fewer than five runs in any of his three starts this season.
Apr. 1 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-McCarthy lasted 6 2-3 innings in Monday's 9-8 loss to the Giants.
Analysis: McCarthy, who was livid about home plate umpire Tom Hallion's call of a ball on a 2-2 pitch just before the double that chased him, allowed five runs and one homer.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2005 CWS 3 2 0 - 0 12 10 0 67.0 62 30 30 13 17 0 48 1.18 4.03
2006 CWS 4 7 0 - 1 53 2 0 84.2 77 44 44 17 33 9 69 1.30 4.68
2007 Tex 5 10 0 - 0 23 22 0 101.2 111 62 55 9 48 0 59 1.56 4.87
2008 Tex 1 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 22.0 20 11 10 3 8 0 10 1.27 4.09
2009 Tex 7 4 0 - 0 17 17 1 97.1 96 55 50 13 36 0 65 1.36 4.62
2011 Oak 9 9 0 - 0 25 25 5 170.2 168 73 63 11 25 1 123 1.13 3.32
2012 Oak 8 6 0 - 0 18 18 0 111.0 115 44 40 10 24 2 73 1.25 3.24
2013 Ari 5 11 0 - 0 22 22 2 135.0 161 71 68 13 21 3 76 1.35 4.53
2014 Ari 3 10 0 - 0 18 18 0 109.2 131 65 61 15 20 4 93 1.38 5.01
2014 NYY 7 5 0 - 0 14 14 1 90.1 91 35 29 10 13 0 82 1.15 2.89
2014 Tot 10 15 0 - 0 32 32 1 200.0 222 100 90 25 33 4 175 1.28 4.05
Career 52 65 0 - 1 207 153 9 989.1 1032 490 450 114 245 19 698 1.29 4.09

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2005 CWS 12 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2006 CWS 53 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2007 Tex 23 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2009 Tex 17 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Ari 22 37 0 1 0 0 0 0 3 15 0 0 .027 .100 .027
2014 Ari 18 29 0 4 0 0 0 3 0 11 0 0 .138 .138 .138
2014 Tot 32 29 0 4 0 0 0 3 0 11 0 0 .138 .138 .138
Career 207 75 0 5 0 0 0 3 3 30 0 0 .067 .103 .067

Postseason


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1845 96 88 92.9 60.99
Curveball 722 84 78 81.3 23.87
Changeup 20 90 82 87.2 .66
Cut Fastball 438 93 87 91.1 14.48

w10 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

>