CBS2-Header-Logo WFAN 1010WINS WCBS tiny WLNYLogo

stats-recaps2

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#43
R.A. Dickey
ERA W-L K
3.84 13-12 162
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-3 / 215 NFBC ADP: 207.30
Position: SPBorn: 10/29/1974 Birthplace: Nashville, Tennessee
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Rangers (1996)


Latest News
Aug. 3 12:24 PM PT1:24 PM MT2:24 PM CT3:24 PM ET15:24 ET19:24 GMT3:24 12:24 PM MST2:24 PM EST2:54 PM VEN23:24 UAE2:24 PM CT-Dickey gave up five runs and nine hits in seven-plus innings in an 8-2 loss in Houston on Saturday night.
Analysis: Dickey (9-11, 4.03 ERA) is 2-2 with a 5.00 ERA in his last four starts.
July 29 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST4:00 PM EST4:30 PM VEN1:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-Dickey pitched three-hit ball for seven innings and the Blue Jays won 14-1 on Monday night.
Analysis: Dickey improved to 3-0 against Boston and faces the Astros next.
July 24 1:11 PM PT2:11 PM MT3:11 PM CT4:11 PM ET16:11 ET20:11 GMT4:11 1:11 PM MST3:11 PM EST3:41 PM VEN0:11 UAE (+1)3:11 PM CT-Dickey moved to 8-10 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Dickey allowed four runs and nine hits in six innings, walked one and struck out five and will face the BoSox again next week.
July 14 2:24 PM PT3:24 PM MT4:24 PM CT5:24 PM ET17:24 ET21:24 GMT5:24 2:24 PM MST4:24 PM EST4:54 PM VEN1:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-Dickey gave up two runs and five hits over six innings Sunday.
Analysis: Dickey fell to 7-9 as he lost for the fifth time in six outings. Dickey worked out of a bases-loaded, one-out jam in the third in one positive sign, however.
July 9 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)4:14 PM CT-Dickey ended a four-start losing streak with an impressive effort in Tuesday's 4-0 win over the Angels, allowing four hits over seven innings.
Analysis: Dickey hadn't been awful during his four-start skid, allowing 12 earned runs in 28 1-3 innings, though he was supplied with only seven runs of support.
July 4 12:43 PM PT1:43 PM MT2:43 PM CT3:43 PM ET15:43 ET19:43 GMT3:43 12:43 PM MST2:43 PM EST3:13 PM VEN23:43 UAE2:43 PM CT-Dickey lost his fourth consecutive start Thursday night with a 4-1 defeat to Oakland.
Analysis: Dickey (6-8, 4.10 ERA) gave up four runs - two earned - six hits and three walks in eight innings. The knuckleballer, who had not lost four straight starts since 2004, has been given seven runs of support in his last four outings.
June 23 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)4:20 PM CT-Dickey lasted 7 2-3 innings Sunday.
Analysis: Dickey struck out seven in his second straight defeat. He draws the ChiSox next.
June 20 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Dickey was scheduled to start Friday, but was pushed back until Sunday, giving him a couple of extra days to let a sore groin heal.
Analysis: The Blue Jays called up right-hander Liam Hendriks to start their series opener Friday night against the Cincinnati Reds, part of a rotation rearrangement.
May 4 11:18 AM PT12:18 PM MT1:18 PM CT2:18 PM ET14:18 ET18:18 GMT2:18 11:18 AM MST1:18 PM EST1:48 PM VEN22:18 UAE1:18 PM CT-Dickey did not get a decision Saturday.
Analysis: Dickey allowed three runs, five hits and four walks, lowering his ERA to 5.01. He faces the Phils next.
Apr. 28 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Dickey looked perhaps the best he has all season in Sunday's win over Boston.
Analysis: Dickey limited the Red Sox to a run and five hits over 6 1-3 innings, and perhaps most importantly, issued no walks. Dickey had been averaging a career-worst 5.59 walks per nine innings through his previous five outings.
Apr. 18 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Dickey suffered his third loss Thursday in the first leg of a doubleheader with Minnesota, giving up five runs and a season-high seven hits along with five walks over 4 1-3 innings.
Analysis: Aside from his 6 2-3 shutout innings in his lone win of the season on April 5 against the Yankees, Dickey has been nothing special, as evidenced by his 6.26 ERA. Fantasy owners looking for a bounce-back season after a rough 2013 from Dickey are probably growing impatient.
Apr. 11 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)3:06 PM CT-Dickey was taken deep twice in a loss Thursday.
Analysis: Dickey was moved up a day to face Houston on regular rest. He allowed five runs and six hits in seven innings. He walked three and struck out four. "It's a real surprise when I have a knuckleball like that and we have the outcome that we had," Dickey said. He'll try to regroup next week against the Twins.
Apr. 6 10:42 AM PT11:42 AM MT12:42 PM CT1:42 PM ET13:42 ET17:42 GMT1:42 10:42 AM MST12:42 PM EST1:12 PM VEN21:42 UAE12:42 PM CT-Dickey and three relievers combined for a 4-0 win over the New York Yankees on Saturday afternoon.
Analysis: Dickey (1-1,4.63 ERA) allowed six runs and five hits in his season-opening start at Tampa Bay last Monday but was much sharper against New York. The 2012 NL Cy Young winner gave up five hits in 6 2-3 innings, walked one and struck out six.
Apr. 1 1:32 PM PT2:32 PM MT3:32 PM CT4:32 PM ET16:32 ET20:32 GMT4:32 1:32 PM MST3:32 PM EST4:02 PM VEN0:32 UAE (+1)3:32 PM CT-Dickey allowed six runs in five innings in Monday's season-opening 9-2 loss at Tampa Bay.
Analysis: Not what fantasy owners wanted to see from Dickey following last season's nightmare. The former NL Cy Young Award winner remains a risky option going forward.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2001 Tex 0 1 0 - 0 4 0 0 12.0 13 9 9 3 7 1 4 1.67 6.75
2003 Tex 9 8 1 - 1 38 13 1 116.2 135 68 66 16 38 5 94 1.48 5.09
2004 Tex 6 7 1 - 1 25 15 0 104.1 136 77 65 17 33 1 57 1.62 5.61
2005 Tex 1 2 0 - 0 9 4 0 29.2 29 23 22 4 17 0 15 1.55 6.67
2006 Tex 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.1 8 7 7 6 1 0 1 2.70 18.90
2008 Sea 5 8 0 - 0 32 14 0 112.1 124 65 65 15 51 4 58 1.56 5.21
2009 Min 1 1 0 - 0 35 1 0 64.1 74 34 33 8 30 1 42 1.62 4.62
2010 NYM 11 9 0 - 0 27 26 2 174.1 165 62 55 13 42 3 104 1.19 2.84
2011 NYM 8 13 0 - 0 33 32 1 208.2 202 85 76 18 54 2 134 1.23 3.28
2012 NYM 20 6 0 - 0 34 33 5 233.2 192 78 71 24 54 2 230 1.05 2.73
2013 Tor 14 13 0 - 0 34 34 3 224.2 207 113 105 35 71 0 177 1.24 4.21
2014 Tor 13 12 0 - 0 31 31 1 196.2 179 96 84 24 68 2 162 1.26 3.84
Career 88 81 2 - 2 303 204 13 1480.2 1464 717 658 183 466 21 1078 1.30 4.00

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2003 Tex 38 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
2008 Sea 32 4 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2010 NYM 27 51 7 13 2 0 0 5 3 8 0 0 .255 .296 .294
2011 NYM 33 59 0 8 0 0 0 2 1 11 0 0 .136 .150 .136
2012 NYM 34 72 3 11 0 0 0 3 0 14 0 0 .153 .164 .153
2013 Tor 34 6 2 2 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .500
2014 Tor 32 9 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 304 202 13 36 3 0 0 11 4 35 0 0 .178 .198 .193

Postseason


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 389 90 78 81.8 12.01
Slider 5 78 76 77.2 .15
Changeup 58 77 68 72.3 1.79
Knuckleball 2787 82 59 76.1 86.05

127 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.